Copa América 2016: Bracket, schedule, scores and more

Everything you need to know about the Copa América Centenario.

Copa América is back, and if bigger is better, it should be as good as it’s ever been. That’s because this isn’t your ordinary Copa América, but an expanded Copa América Centenario. It includes not just the standard members of the South American football association (CONMEBOL), but also sides from North and Central America (CONCACAF). CONMEBOL turns 100 years old this year and decided to mark the occasion by organizing this competition.

It’s standard procedure for the Copa América to invite a couple of CONCACAF teams down to make up the numbers in the Copa América, as the standard tournament format requires two more sides than CONMEBOL have members. However, this revamped edition has four more teams than normal, with hosts the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica, Jamaica, Haiti and Panama all participating.

The format

Instead of the standard three-group format, there are four groups at this edition of the Copa. The four teams in all four groups play each other once, and the top two teams progress into the quarterfinals. From there it’s straight knockout, winner-takes-all football, with ties determined by a penalty shootout in the quarterfinals and semifinals without extra time. In the final, extra time will be played in the event of a draw after 90 minutes, and a penalty shootout will take place if necessary after 120 minutes.

The teams

Group A

United States
Costa Rica

Group B


Group C


Group D



See our gigantic Copa América preview!

Schedule and results (all times Eastern)

Friday, June 3

United States 0-2 Colombia — Recap

Saturday, June 4

Costa Rica 0-0 Paraguay — Recap

Haiti 0-1 Peru — Recap

Brazil 0-0 Ecuador — Recap

Sunday, June 5

Jamaica 0-1 Venezuela — Recap

Mexico 3-1 Uruguay — Recap

Monday, June 6

Panama 2-1 Bolivia — Recap

Argentina 2-1 Chile — Recap

Tuesday, June 7

United States 4-0 Costa Rica — Recap

Colombia 2-1 Paraguay — Recap

Wednesday, June 8

Brazil 7-1 Haiti — Recap

Ecuador 2-2 Peru — Recap

Thursday, June 9

Uruguay 0-1 Venezuela — Recap

Mexico 2-0 Jamaica — Recap

Friday, June 10

Chile 2-1 Bolivia — Recap

Argentina 5-0 Panama — Recap

Saturday, June 11

United States 1-0 Paraguay — Recap; USA advances to quarterfinals in 1st place.

Colombia 2-3 Costa Rica — Recap; Colombia advances to quarterfinals in 2nd place.

Sunday, June 12

Ecuador 4-0 Haiti — Ecuador advances to quarterfinals in 2nd place.

Brazil vs. Peru, 8:30 p.m.

Monday, June 13

Mexico vs. Venezuela, 8 p.m.

Uruguay vs. Jamaica, 10 p.m.

Tuesday, June 14

Chile vs. Panama, 8 p.m.

Argentina vs. Bolivia, 10 p.m.

Thursday, June 16

Quarterfinal 1: United States vs. Ecuador, 9:30 p.m.

Friday, June 17

Quarterfinal 2: winner Group B vs. Colombia, 8 p.m.

Saturday, June 18

Quarterfinal 3: winner Group D vs. runner-up Group C, 7 p.m.

Quarterfinal 4: winner Group C vs. runner-up Group D, 10 p.m.

Tuesday, June 21

Semifinal 1: winner Quarterfinal 1 vs. winner Quarterfinal 3, 9 p.m.

Wednesday, June 22

Semifinal 2: winner Quarterfinal 2 vs. winner Quarterfinal 4, 8 p.m.

Saturday, June 25

Third place playoff, 8 p.m.

Sunday, June 26

FINAL, 8 p.m.


Get all kinds of stories, rumors, game coverage, and Vines of dudes getting hit in the beans in your inbox every day. – All Posts

About the Author

has written 15868 posts on this blog.

Copyright © 2018 Nationwide Newspaper. All rights reserved.
Proudly powered by WordPress. Developed by QHN